Standards (including Eurocodes)

British Standards

British Standards Online database provides access to the full-text of the complete set of all current, draft and withdrawn British Standards.

Eurocodes

The complete set of all Eurocodes is available, in full-text, through the British Standards Online database. Search on the full name, e.g. “Eurocode 4”, to retrieve all parts.

Further documentation on the use and implementation of Eurocodes is available through the following online resources:

Construction Information Service:

Documentation from national organisations including BRE, BSRIA, CIOB, CIBSE, CIRIA and The Institution of Structural Engineers.

ICE Virtual Library:

Online access to full-text documentation from the Institution of Civil Engineers.

ASTM Standards

ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library (ASTM SEDL) provides full-text of current, withdrawn and historical ASTM standards as well as ASTM journals and technical publications.

CEN Standards

Standards developed by CEN (Comite Europeen de Normalisation) and adopted by the British Standards Institute are available in the British Standards Online database.

When searching for CEN standards in the database it is advisable to drop the prefix letters and search on the standard number alone.

ISO Standards

The full-text of ISOs (International Organisation for Standards) adopted by the British Standards Institute is available in the British Standards Online database.

When searching the database for ISO standards it is advisable to drop the prefix letters and search on standard number alone.

IEC Standards

The full-text of IECs (International Electrotechnical Commission) adopted by the British Standards Institute is available in the British Standards Online database.

When searching the database for IEC standards it is advisable to drop the prefix letters and search on standard number alone.

IEEE Standards

The full-text of the complete set of IEEE standards is available through the IEEE/IET Electronic Library.

Other national and international standards

Edinburgh University Library holds some standards in print format; these may not be the current version. They may be found by searching DiscoverEd.

ILI Standards Online, an index to worldwide standards, is available for searching for national and international standards and can be used to check for current status of standards. Registration is required in order to use the index.

Standards not available in the Library's collections may be obtained through the Library's Inter-Library Loans service. Standards available in this way include non BS equivalent ISOs and ENs.  

Interlibrary loans (document delivery) service

Standards not available through the Library's Inter-Library Loan Service may be acquired by the Library on behalf of users.

Help on finding or accessing standards

Queries on finding or accessing standards should be directed to: