Library news and projects

News

New College news

Information Services

School of Divinity

Electronic resources

Projects

Funk Project

The donation

In 2005 the Reverend Robert Funk made a donation of $1,000,000 to New College Library over a 10 year period.

This donation was made with the intention of improving the facilities for Special Collections at New College Library, in accordance with the highest modern standards.

Three key areas were identified to accomplish the goal of securing and enhancing the Special Collections at New College Library:

• cataloguing and preservation
• special collections facilities
• safety and security

The New College Library Pamphlets Cataloguing Project

The New College Library Pamphlet Collection contains over 30,000 items, the earliest dating from the 15th century, of which a large number came from ministers' libraries.

The content is of great historical and literary value as well as being of theological interest. A section of the collection has already been catalogued as part of the RSLP (Research Support Libraries Programme) 19th Century Pamphlets Project.

This project resulted in increased usage of the Pamphlets Collection. Our aim is to build on this success and complete the online cataloguing of this collection to enable full access to the materials.

The Funk Donation is supporting two full time cataloguing posts for two years which will undertake the cataloguing of at least 12,000 pamphlets to complete the online cataloguing of the New College Library Pamphlets Collection.

The project also includes the safeguarding of least 1000 of the most vulnerable items in the collection with basic preservation measures by putting them in archival boxes and / or tying with archival tape.

Further information

If you have any queries or would like further information about the project, please contact: