Edinburgh University Library collections for French studies The following description covers the printed materials only. Information on electronic resources can be found in the Databases section. Most books and journals concerning French Studies are located in the Main Library, George Square. Main Library There are about 112,000 items in French in the Library system. All the materials are listed in the Library’s resource discovery service DiscoverEd. Books that are classified in the Library of Congress (LC) scheme (e.g. PQ2435.R72 Cas.) are located on the 3rd floor (shelfmarks P-Z) and 2nd floor (shelfmarks A-N) Older books that are classified in the Dewey decimal scheme (e.g. .89513(05) Cha.) are shelved on the 4th floor or at the University Collections Facility (UCF). Books stored in the UCF can be requested using DiscoverEd, the University’s Library Discovery Service . Requesting items from the University Collections Facility HUB collection The High Use Books (HUB) collection, located on the ground floor of the Main Library, consists of HUB Reserve (3 hour loan) and HUB Short Loan (7 day loan) books as well as offprints. Undergraduate course books on Reserve for French studies are located in this collection. Locations of other collections Reference works such as dictionaries, encyclopaedias and bibliographies are classified in the LC scheme and interfiled with the general LC lending stock. Manuscripts are held in the Centre for Research Collections. CRC: manuscripts Exam papers from session 1996/97 onwards are now available online. Exam Papers Online Related links Recommending a book Interlibrary Loans Library Resources Plus This article was published on 2024-08-21
