A selection of sources of engineering data, maps and geospatial data - some with interactive graphs and tables. HTML Cambridge Structural Database - web based service Access to the University network via the VPN Access information: Registration may be required for off-campus access. VPN may be required to register from off-campus. Description: Over 700,000 small-molecule organic and organometallic crystal structures that can be visualised and downloaded. The crystallographic data has been determined by X-ray and neutron diffraction techniques. Additional information: CSD Remote Desktop for interrogation using associated software packages - see Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) entry HTML Computer Index of Nuclear Reaction Data (CINDA) Access information: Freely available. Description: Bibliographic references to measurements, calculations, reviews, and evaluations of neutron cross-sections and other microscopic neutron data. Includes index references to numerical neutron data from four regional neutron data centers. Photonuclear and charged particle reaction data included since 2005. Coverage: Two automatic updates from EXFOR and NSR each year. HTML Data Citation Index Alternative login VPN Service Access information: Access on and off campus. Description: An index to quality research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world. HTML DETHERM: Thermophysical Properties Database VPN service Access information: Access on and off campus. Off campus users will be asked to register their name and ed.ac.uk email address on initial login. Description: Thermophysical properties of pure substances and mixtures. Thermodynamic properties, vapour pressures, transport properties, surface tensions, electrolyte data and phase equilibrium data for more than 60,000 pure compounds and 163,000 mixtures. Coverage: Provides access to the following databases: Dortmunder Datenbank DDB, Electrolyte data collection ELDAR, Thermophysical database INFOTHERM, Thermophysical Parameter database COMDOR, Data collection C-DATA, Solubility Database CAPEC-SDB. Additional Information: Read more about the constituent databases. HTML Digimap CollectionAccess information:Access on and off campus. Users are required to register and agree the data licence. Follow instructions providedDescription:Digimap is a collection of EDINA services that delivers maps and map data of Great Britain. Maps can be viewed, annotated and printed and data can be downloaded for use in GIS or CAD software. Subscribed collections include:agCensus.Aerial Digimap.Environment Digimap.Geology Digimap.Global Digimap. Historic Digimap.Lidar Digimap.Marine Digimap.Ordnance Survey Digimap. (incl. OS National Geographic Database)Society Digimap. Verisk Digimap.For a complete description of each collection, please see the individual entries on the alphabetical databases pages.Notes:Northern Ireland data will be removed on 31/7/20. Any Northern Ireland data stored must be deleted. HTML ESDU: Engineering Sciences Data Unit Access Information: Access on-campus. For off-campus access, please use the University VPN - Access to the University network via the VPN. Description: Design data and methods for Material Science, Aerospace, Mechanical, Chemical, Civil, Structural and Environmental engineering. Highly relevant to students and researchers in these fields to help explore and optimise design iterations and validate final designs. ESDU is the only collection of validated data of this kind. HTML Knovel ebooks Access information: Access on campus and off campus. Description: Knovel platform includes technical reference information and interactive tools for targeted Materials/Property search across engineering disciplines. Over 3,500 books are available during academic year 2017/18. HTML Marine Digimap Access information: Access on and off campus. Users are required to register and agree the data licence. Follow instructions provided Description: Marine Digimap provides marine and coastal zone mapping licensed from OceanWise, the service includes raster marine maps of various scales and detail (derived from Admiralty Charts), which are ideal for back-drop mapping in the UK coastal zone, vector thematic marine data suitable for advanced spatial analysis, and customised mapping. Maps can be viewed, annotated and printed and data can be downloaded for use in GIS or CAD software. HTML Material ConneXionAccess information:Access on and off campus. Click "Member log in" to access the database and all its features.Description:Material ConneXion is the world's largest resource of new materials. The Library houses over 7,000 advanced, sustainable and innovative materials representing eight categories: polymers, naturals, metals, glass, ceramics, carbon-based materials, cement-based materials, and processes. It features cutting-edge materials and applications, including the world's only collection of Cradle to Cradle sustainable materials. Material ConneXion researches materials for all design disciplines, including: aerospace design; architecture; art; automobile design; fashion design; graphic design; industrial design; interior design; landscape architecture; package design; product design and textiles. HTML Physical Sciences Data-science Service (PSDS) VPN service Access information: Free at the point of access for students and academics of UK academic institutions. Personal registration may be required for some services. VPN service may be required to register from off campus. Description: A suite of chemistry databases and tools provided by the University of Southampton and the Science and Technology Facilities Council. Funded by the EPSRC. Coverage: Cambridge Structural Database (CSD), DETHERM, ACD/ILab, BIOVIA Available Chemicals Directory (ACD), FIZ Karlsruhe's Inorganic Crystal Structure Database (ICSD), CrystalWorks and SPRESIweb. Additional information: About the Physical Sciences Data-science Service (Science & Technology Facilities Services [Daresbury] hosted CrystalWorks access) HTML Reaxys (Academic Edition) Access information: Access on and off campus. Use the link to "Sign in via your Institution" and follow the onscreen instructions. Description: Chemical reaction, structure and property data for organic and inorganic compounds. Also bibliographic data. Search by chemical structures and reactions as well as text. Contains the information from Gmelin and Beilstein. Reaxys and Reaxys Medicinal Chemistry (as of Dec 2022): 170 MILLION organic, inorganic and organometallic compounds 60 MILLION chemical reactions >500 MILLION published experimental facts 16,000 chemistry-related periodicals 196,000 patents 240 years of chemistry knowledge 6 indexing sources for a cross-disciplinary view of chemistry Coverage: 1771 to date. Userguides: https://service.elsevier.com/app/answers/list/page/1/c/10545/supporthub/reaxys/ HTML SciFindern - (both University and personal login required)Not letting you in?Have you registered for your personal SciFinder username/password?An existing SciFinder personal registration will work for SciFindernCAS retired SciFinder classic platform on 1st July 2022. Use the new SciFindern platform linked to above.Going direct, rather than using the link above, requires IP authentication as well as personal registration and therefore connection to the VPN may be necessary.How to register for a personal SciFinder account (required)Access information:Requires personal registration. How to register for SciFinderDirect access possible with your personal login details plus a University registered IP addressVPN service After 20 minutes of inactivity sessions will be closed automatically.Description:Bibliographic information and abstracts of articles published from more than 50,000 journals. Covers chemistry (all aspects), chemical structures and patents, chemical engineering, biochemistry, biotechnology, genetics. Information on more than 268 million chemical substances. Search by chemical structure or text. Full reaction searching allows you to specify reaction sites and map atoms in the reactants. Also, information on patents, chemical suppliers and regulations. Cited reference searching is possible.Coverage:From 1800s onwardsAdditional information:Further support from the supplier for SciFindern Related Links Edinburgh Data Science Research Data Management Policy Research Data Management Programme This article was published on 2024-08-21
HTML Cambridge Structural Database - web based service Access to the University network via the VPN Access information: Registration may be required for off-campus access. VPN may be required to register from off-campus. Description: Over 700,000 small-molecule organic and organometallic crystal structures that can be visualised and downloaded. The crystallographic data has been determined by X-ray and neutron diffraction techniques. Additional information: CSD Remote Desktop for interrogation using associated software packages - see Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) entry
HTML Computer Index of Nuclear Reaction Data (CINDA) Access information: Freely available. Description: Bibliographic references to measurements, calculations, reviews, and evaluations of neutron cross-sections and other microscopic neutron data. Includes index references to numerical neutron data from four regional neutron data centers. Photonuclear and charged particle reaction data included since 2005. Coverage: Two automatic updates from EXFOR and NSR each year.
HTML Data Citation Index Alternative login VPN Service Access information: Access on and off campus. Description: An index to quality research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world.
HTML DETHERM: Thermophysical Properties Database VPN service Access information: Access on and off campus. Off campus users will be asked to register their name and ed.ac.uk email address on initial login. Description: Thermophysical properties of pure substances and mixtures. Thermodynamic properties, vapour pressures, transport properties, surface tensions, electrolyte data and phase equilibrium data for more than 60,000 pure compounds and 163,000 mixtures. Coverage: Provides access to the following databases: Dortmunder Datenbank DDB, Electrolyte data collection ELDAR, Thermophysical database INFOTHERM, Thermophysical Parameter database COMDOR, Data collection C-DATA, Solubility Database CAPEC-SDB. Additional Information: Read more about the constituent databases.
HTML Digimap CollectionAccess information:Access on and off campus. Users are required to register and agree the data licence. Follow instructions providedDescription:Digimap is a collection of EDINA services that delivers maps and map data of Great Britain. Maps can be viewed, annotated and printed and data can be downloaded for use in GIS or CAD software. Subscribed collections include:agCensus.Aerial Digimap.Environment Digimap.Geology Digimap.Global Digimap. Historic Digimap.Lidar Digimap.Marine Digimap.Ordnance Survey Digimap. (incl. OS National Geographic Database)Society Digimap. Verisk Digimap.For a complete description of each collection, please see the individual entries on the alphabetical databases pages.Notes:Northern Ireland data will be removed on 31/7/20. Any Northern Ireland data stored must be deleted.
HTML ESDU: Engineering Sciences Data Unit Access Information: Access on-campus. For off-campus access, please use the University VPN - Access to the University network via the VPN. Description: Design data and methods for Material Science, Aerospace, Mechanical, Chemical, Civil, Structural and Environmental engineering. Highly relevant to students and researchers in these fields to help explore and optimise design iterations and validate final designs. ESDU is the only collection of validated data of this kind.
HTML Knovel ebooks Access information: Access on campus and off campus. Description: Knovel platform includes technical reference information and interactive tools for targeted Materials/Property search across engineering disciplines. Over 3,500 books are available during academic year 2017/18.
HTML Marine Digimap Access information: Access on and off campus. Users are required to register and agree the data licence. Follow instructions provided Description: Marine Digimap provides marine and coastal zone mapping licensed from OceanWise, the service includes raster marine maps of various scales and detail (derived from Admiralty Charts), which are ideal for back-drop mapping in the UK coastal zone, vector thematic marine data suitable for advanced spatial analysis, and customised mapping. Maps can be viewed, annotated and printed and data can be downloaded for use in GIS or CAD software.
HTML Material ConneXionAccess information:Access on and off campus. Click "Member log in" to access the database and all its features.Description:Material ConneXion is the world's largest resource of new materials. The Library houses over 7,000 advanced, sustainable and innovative materials representing eight categories: polymers, naturals, metals, glass, ceramics, carbon-based materials, cement-based materials, and processes. It features cutting-edge materials and applications, including the world's only collection of Cradle to Cradle sustainable materials. Material ConneXion researches materials for all design disciplines, including: aerospace design; architecture; art; automobile design; fashion design; graphic design; industrial design; interior design; landscape architecture; package design; product design and textiles.
HTML Physical Sciences Data-science Service (PSDS) VPN service Access information: Free at the point of access for students and academics of UK academic institutions. Personal registration may be required for some services. VPN service may be required to register from off campus. Description: A suite of chemistry databases and tools provided by the University of Southampton and the Science and Technology Facilities Council. Funded by the EPSRC. Coverage: Cambridge Structural Database (CSD), DETHERM, ACD/ILab, BIOVIA Available Chemicals Directory (ACD), FIZ Karlsruhe's Inorganic Crystal Structure Database (ICSD), CrystalWorks and SPRESIweb. Additional information: About the Physical Sciences Data-science Service (Science & Technology Facilities Services [Daresbury] hosted CrystalWorks access)
HTML Reaxys (Academic Edition) Access information: Access on and off campus. Use the link to "Sign in via your Institution" and follow the onscreen instructions. Description: Chemical reaction, structure and property data for organic and inorganic compounds. Also bibliographic data. Search by chemical structures and reactions as well as text. Contains the information from Gmelin and Beilstein. Reaxys and Reaxys Medicinal Chemistry (as of Dec 2022): 170 MILLION organic, inorganic and organometallic compounds 60 MILLION chemical reactions >500 MILLION published experimental facts 16,000 chemistry-related periodicals 196,000 patents 240 years of chemistry knowledge 6 indexing sources for a cross-disciplinary view of chemistry Coverage: 1771 to date. Userguides: https://service.elsevier.com/app/answers/list/page/1/c/10545/supporthub/reaxys/
HTML SciFindern - (both University and personal login required)Not letting you in?Have you registered for your personal SciFinder username/password?An existing SciFinder personal registration will work for SciFindernCAS retired SciFinder classic platform on 1st July 2022. Use the new SciFindern platform linked to above.Going direct, rather than using the link above, requires IP authentication as well as personal registration and therefore connection to the VPN may be necessary.How to register for a personal SciFinder account (required)Access information:Requires personal registration. How to register for SciFinderDirect access possible with your personal login details plus a University registered IP addressVPN service After 20 minutes of inactivity sessions will be closed automatically.Description:Bibliographic information and abstracts of articles published from more than 50,000 journals. Covers chemistry (all aspects), chemical structures and patents, chemical engineering, biochemistry, biotechnology, genetics. Information on more than 268 million chemical substances. Search by chemical structure or text. Full reaction searching allows you to specify reaction sites and map atoms in the reactants. Also, information on patents, chemical suppliers and regulations. Cited reference searching is possible.Coverage:From 1800s onwardsAdditional information:Further support from the supplier for SciFindern
